Patterson High winter athletes recognized
by PI Staff
Mar 13, 2013 | 1206 views | 0 0 comments | 8 8 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Patterson High honored its standout winter athletes Monday, March 11, during a Winter Athletic Awards Night in the school gymnasium.

Coaches recognized the leading competitors from the boys basketball, girls basketball, wrestling and cheerleading teams.

Achievements in leadership, team spirit and overall improvement were also acknowledged.

Boys basketball

Junior Jordan Levu received the most outstanding player award from coach Agustin Arreola.

Senior co-captain Keegan Sanchez was honored as defensive player of the year; senior Fernando Chavez claimed the Coach’s Award; and senior co-captain Skylar Job received the Tiger Pride Award.

John Minton, a senior, was named the most improved player.

“The outlook is bright for Patterson basketball,” Arreola said. “Our coaches did a great job developing talent at the lower levels. We expect next year’s group to take the program to the next level.”

The Tigers (22-7) finished the season in the second round of the Sac-Joaquin Section Division III playoffs.

Girls basketball

Coach Elizabeth Tolleson recognized seniors Shantel Perez and Janel Ortega and junior Jovanah Arrington as co-captains of the 2013 team, which went 24-3 and reached the second round of the playoffs.

“The team worked really hard to earn everything they got,” Tolleson said. “I’m very impressed by some of the girls’ work ethic and cannot wait to see what is in store for next season.”

Arrington and Shealyn Craven, a sophomore, were both named the most valuable players.

The Tiger Pride Award went to junior Dayna Hansen.

Junior Mele Tupouata was named the most improved player, and the Coach’s Award went to junior Kiara Job.


Wrestling coach Lee Scoles bestowed praise on his team’s co-captains, senior Joey Howard and junior Manuel Cruz, as well as the rest of the squad, which finished the year with a 2-4 record in the Western Athletic Conference.

Sophomore Daniel Cota was the MVP, while junior Jordan Canseco received most-improved honors.

Scoles gave a Coach’s Award to both seniors Adam Melo and Joseph Ruelas and gave Howard the Coach Worley Award, which was instituted in 1998 in honor of longtime Patterson High wrestling coach Mike Worley.

“The (Coach Worley Award) goes to a senior who possesses all the attributes a coach wants in his wrestlers, such as work ethic, leadership, character and integrity,” Scoles said. “It honors the legacy of Patterson wrestling, and goes to an individual who works harder then their opponents and never quits.”

Cheer team

Coach Shannon Csicsery recognized cheerleader Lacie Goddu with the Coach’s Award for the winter season, while teammate Elizabeth Garcia earned the Heart of the Tiger Award for spirit.

Raven Samano and Ashley Cosio were co-captains.

JV and frosh

The Patterson High junior varsity winter athletics season was also capped by the Monday banquet.

Buzzy Wheeland, the JV boys basketball coach, named Damarrio Hammonds the team’s most valuable offensive player. Mylek McDowell was named the best defensive player. Dylan Halland received the Coach’s Award. Hammonds and Gurkirt Heerey were deemed co-captains.

Sara Gomez, the JV girls basketball coach, recognized Ariyanna Cashen and Jordan Scheuller as co-captains. Cashen was also the squad’s MVP, and teammate Leanna Lindsey earned outstanding defensive player honors. Julia Sill received the Tiger Pride Award.

Freshman boys basketball coach Rick Lazaro named Avery DeHoyos as the team’s most outstanding offensive player and Adam Hansen as the outstanding defender. Hugo Gonzalez collected the Sixth-man Award, which goes to the most valuable player for his team coming off the bench as a substitute.

Kosi Ogbuli was the team captain.

Freshman girls basketball coach Terry Coble recognized Danyelle DeForest and Lordes Ramirez with Tiger Pride awards. Paula Diaz was team captain.

Scoles named Tony Halcon the most valuable wrestler on the JV squad and Chris Perez the most improved wrestler. Keith Gordon earned the Coach’s Award. Ethan Schut, Justin Gonzalez and Kinoa Garza were selected as co-captains.

JV cheerleader Isabella Vega earned the most improved cheerleader award. Tatyana Colindres and Sierrah Leal were co-captains.

Contact Marc Aceves at 892-6187, ext. 28, or

Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet

We encourage your online comments in this public forum, but please keep them respectful and constructive. This is not a forum for personal attacks, libelous statements, profanity or racist slurs. Readers may report such inappropriate comments by e-mailing the editor at