Two more enter council race
by PI Staff
Aug 15, 2012 | 1384 views | 1 1 comments | 4 4 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Eight candidates, including two for mayor, have entered a crowded City Council race this fall.

The race for two council seats and the office of mayor, includes some familiar faces.

Mayor Luis Molina, Councilwoman Annette Smith and Councilman Dominic Farinha have all filed for re-election.

Troy McComak, who lost a bid for Congress in June’s primary election, will challenge Molina for the mayor’s seat.

Antonio “Tony” Camacho and Dennis McCord are running for council for the first time, and Sheree Lustgarten and Carlos Gustavo Fierros are running again after their campaigns in 2010.

A full profile of the race will appear in next week’s Irrigator.

The window to file papers to run for local offices closed Friday, Aug. 10, when Smith submitted her bid for re-election. If any of the incumbents had decided not to run, the deadline would have been extended to Wednesday, Aug. 15.

Comments-icon Post a Comment
August 18, 2012
Patterson City Councilwoman Annette Smith renewed her call this week for a review of the training required of civil grand jurors in Stanislaus County.

Smith, a target of the 2011 grand jury report, earlier sent Presiding Judge Ricardo Córdova a letter seeking further training of grand jurors who found she should lose her seat on the council for illegally firing the then-city manager and failing to disclose a financial relationship with a developer who had dealings with the city.

This year's grand jury affirmed the previous panel's findings; this week, Smith sent another letter, saying in part that "members appear to have lost sight of their duty as civil watchdogs and instead (have) taken on a role as political attack dogs."

We encourage your online comments in this public forum, but please keep them respectful and constructive. This is not a forum for personal attacks, libelous statements, profanity or racist slurs. Readers may report such inappropriate comments by e-mailing the editor at