Patterson honors football, cheer teams
by PI Staff
Dec 11, 2013 | 1502 views | 0 0 comments | 53 53 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Patterson High's football and cheerleading programs celebrated their 2013 seasons at their annual awards ceremony Dec. 4 in the school cafeteria.

Patterson coach Nick Marchy addressed the athletes' friends and families, as well as the many others who helped make another season of Tigers football a success.

The Tigers (9-2) captured one of the Western Athletic Conference's major yearly football awards and placed eight players on the all-WAC first team.

Patterson junior middle linebacker Ruben Rosas is the league's Outstanding Defensive Player.

Joining Rosas on the all-WAC first team are junior quarterback Damien Paulo, senior offensive lineman Oscar Calderon, senior wide receiver Avion Warmsley, senior tight end Jordan Levu, senior defensive lineman Jesse Nuia, senior outside linebacker Jacob Gomez and junior defensive back Damarrio Hammonds.

Named to the all-WAC second team were senior wide receiver Brandon Williams and senior defensive back Michael Campbell.

Levu (Impact Player of the Year), Paulo (Playmaker of the Year), Warmsley (Ironman Award), Sal Delgado (Tiger Teammate of the Year), Daniel Kelepi (Tiger Pride Award), Miguel Mejia (Top Newcomer of the Year), Hunter Powers (All Purpose Player of the Year) and Nick Russell (Lineman of the Year) also garnered team awards.

Campbell, Gomez, Nuia, Rosas and Williams were recognized as team captains.

Junior varsity

The Patterson JV football team commemorated its 9-1 campaign with awards for leading athletes.

The title of Most Valuable Player went to sophomore Michael Lawson. Sophomore Jerry Arredondo was named the Lineman of the Year. Sophomore Nikolaus Priester garnered the Impact Player of the Year Award, while classmate Jamal Broussard earned Tiger Pride honors.

Deamian Collins and Alec Espos were recognized as team captains.


The Patterson High freshmen football team's season was also capped off at last week's ceremony.

Tre McGill was named the team's MVP. Teammate John Guevarra earned defensive player of the year honors, while Joey Robles came away with the Tiger Pride Award.

Simon Perez was honored as team captain.

Varsity cheer

LeBrea Bell was named the Patterson High varsity squad's most improved cheerleader at last week's ceremony.

Isabella Vega collected the Tiger Pride award, and Melissa Tenorio received the Coach's Award.

Cassandra Avila and Elizabeth Garcia were captains.

JV cheer

Emily Fitch received the Most Improved Cheerleader award, and Tatyana Colindres earned Tiger Pride honors.

Kaytlynn Ellis and Katie Keller were captains.

Contact Marc Aceves at 892-6187, ext. 28, or
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet

We encourage your online comments in this public forum, but please keep them respectful and constructive. This is not a forum for personal attacks, libelous statements, profanity or racist slurs. Readers may report such inappropriate comments by e-mailing the editor at